Chicagoland Walk

Join us on September 23, 2017

Donate To This Event

Event Details

Walk Date: 09/23/2017
Walk Location: Arvey Field - Grant Park - Chicago, IL
Check-in/Registration Time: 09/23/2017 at 9:00 am
Walk Begins: 11:00 am
Walk Ends: 1:00 pm

For more information, please contact:
Contact Name: Courtney Collins 
Contact Phone: 312-890-2377 
Contact Email: chicago@afsp.org

Thank you to the more than 5,500 walkers, virtual walkers, volunteers and supporters that joined us on Saturday 9/23 to raise awareness. Your support is making a difference in the fight against suicide.

When you participate in the Out of the Darkness Walks, you join the effort with hundreds of thousands of people nationwide to raise awareness and funds that allow AFSP to invest in new research, create educational programs, advocate for public policy, and support survivors of suicide loss. 

As the leader in the fight against suicide, and thank you to walkers like you from cities across the country,
AFSP has been able to set a goal to reduce the annual suicide rate 20% by 2025.

WALK DETAILS

Click here for more details. Information will be updated regularly so continue to check back!
*Quick view of walk route and site map.

HOPE TEAM PROGRAM

Thank you to the teams that raised over $5,000 to qualify for the new Hope Team Program!

Dog Days (Northwestern Alpha Epsilon Pi)
Forever Mark
DEEDS
Team Elana
#justiceforjonathon
Team Cheeseburger
Jay Gulotta
Go Cubs Go!

FUNDRAISING

$150+ - Walk t-shirt and personal fundraising page photo included in the program slideshow

$300 - Photo plus your story in 30 words in the program slideshow (New this year!)

$500-$999 - Red Ribbon Walker. Receive a red ribbon and complimentary gift bag

$1,000+ - Blue Ribbon Walker. Receive a blue ribbon and complimentary gift bag

*To help with your fundraising efforts, view the Walk Participant Toolkit which includes fundraising tips, social media messages and much more!
**To learn more about how funds raised are used, click here.
***Funds help AFSP's bold initiative, Project 2025, as well. Learn more.

SPONSORSHIP

To learn about sponsorship opportunities, please click here. If you have questions, email chicago@afsp.org.

HELP SPREAD THE WORD!

You can help promote the walk in your community. Click here to download a walk flyer, print it and distribute to businesses around your town! This is also a great way to receive service hours while also spreading the word about AFSP and the Chicagoland Walk.

Also, social media is a great way to promote the walk! Please be sure to use the following: @AFSPIL @AFSPChicago #ootdccw

Share your story, post photos, invite others to join you for the walk or donate to your fundraising efforts. Social media is a powerful tool!

WALK T-SHIRT

Raise $150 by 09/23/2017 and receive an official Out of the Darkness Walk T-shirt!

Remember, in addition to fundraising online, you will be able to turn in additional cash or check donations at the registration table the day of the Walk.

SILENT AUCTION

A great silent auction is shaping up and below are some items from last year's walk!

Autographed Professional Sports Memorabilia
Gift Certificates to Chicago Attractions
Guided Student Piloting Experience
Jewelry
Wine Tours & Tastings

If you would like to donate an item or service for the silent auction, please email Erika Barber at ebarber68@sbcglobal.net.

Thank you to this year's auction donors!

Alyssa Relyea  
Bottle & Bottega https://www.bottleandbottega.com/arlington-heights/
Bradford Portraits http://www.bradfordportraits.com/
Cheryl Zuchhero and McIntosh Cellars http://www.mcintoshorchards.com/
Chicago Bears http://m.chicagobears.com/
Chicago Bulls http://www.nba.com/bulls/
Chicago White Sox https://www.mlb.com/whitesox
Chicago Wolves http://www.chicagowolves.com/
City Winery Chicago http://www.citywinery.com/chicago/
ComedySportz http://www.cszchicago.com/
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurants https://www.coopershawkwinery.com/
Elizabeth Kate Conroy, Jamberry Consultant https://jams4all.jamberry.com/
Goodman Theatre https://www.goodmantheatre.org/
Jim & Liz Compton  
Joanne Braford  
Karen Starcevic  
Kathy DeCastris  
Kristen Sohacki  
L. Woods http://lwoodsrestaurant.com/
Laura Ziccardi  
Lynfred Winery-Roselle http://lynfredwinery.com/
Mariusz Bialas & Keswick Jewelers http://www.keswickjewelers.com
Mary Ann Scukanec  
Mike Scukanec  
Music Box Theatre https://musicboxtheatre.com/
Navy Pier http://bit.ly/2eJxQXW
PRP Wine International https://www.prpwine.com/index.asp
Rik Schwarz & Great Lakes Coca-Cola http://www.greatlakescocacola.com/
Salsa 17 https://www.salsa17grill.com/
Sean Gannon & Pamela Burkhardt  
Shedd Aquarium http://www.sheddaquarium.org
Susan Hart  
The Collins Family  
The Joffrey Ballet http://www.joffrey.org/
The Second City https://www.secondcity.com/
Tonine Divito  
Untouchable Tours https://gangstertour.com/
Windy City Flyers http://windycityaviation.com/
Wyland World Wide http://www.wyland.com/about/wyland_worldwide/1


COMMUNITY RESOURCES

Make sure to arrive early to allow time to visit the Community Outreach tent.
This is a great opportunity to gather resources, hear about upcoming events and learn how to get involved with the Illinois Chapter.

ACTIVITIES OF HOPE AND HEALING

Honor Beads

Losing someone to suicide or struggling with a mental illness can feel like no one understands what you are going through. Unlike other illnesses, it is difficult to look at someone and know their connection. This event is a journey of remembrance and a walk that unites a community – a time to acknowledge the ways in which suicide and mental illness have affected our lives and our loved ones. We all wear honor beads - each color shows our personal connection to the cause, and helps us identify others who understand our experience.

Why I Walk Wall

Share your story, leave a message of hope or anything you want to share with walkers.

Memorial Wall

If you are a survivor of suicide loss, we encourage you to bring a non-returnable photo of your loved one to the event to add to the Memorial Wall.

Thank you for your support! We look forward to seeing you at the walk!

SPREAD THE WORD

Quick Stats

$823,189.68 Raised
5,445 Participants

Spread The Word